A study for UK studios

What studios need to know about TallyUp as an alternative to bsport and Arketa

By Facts checked

The short answer

TallyUp by BespokeWorks is booking software for UK studios and gyms. It publishes its price in pounds, charges monthly with no minimum term, and does the move from your old system for you. It does not have teacher pay, on-demand video, ClassPass, text messages, Direct Debit or an app in the app stores, and bsport and Arketa include some of those. This study sets out what each company publishes, and where that leaves a studio deciding.

TallyUp is our product, and we publish this study, so we are not neutral. Every fact about bsport and Arketa links to the page we read it on, with the date we checked it. If you want the short version, the comparison table has it on one page.

1. What you need to know about TallyUp

Start with what TallyUp is and costs. The rest of the study sets bsport and Arketa beside it.

Figure 1 TallyUp

TallyUp is £15.99 or £19.99 a month per studio, with the first month free

Published at tallyup.studio/pricing and in the terms. Prices in pounds. Checked in the product on 2 November 2026.

First month freeFor every studio. We ask for a card at the start, and charge nothing during the month.
No minimum termNo exit fee. Cancel from your console at any time.
Card payments: 2% + 20pFor UK cards, with Stripe's own fee included. Nothing on cash or bank transfer.
VATNone is added today, because BespokeWorks AI Limited is not yet VAT registered. Studios get at least 30 days' notice before anything they pay changes.

What your clients see

A booking page in your studio's name and colours. It works on any phone with nothing to download, and clients can add it to their home screen.

A studio's booking page on a phone: the week to pick from, and the day's classes with time, teacher, price and tags, including a Boxing Fundamentals class with a waitlist badge
Your booking page The week's classes, with teacher, price and places left.
A kickboxing class's page on a phone: 50 minutes, group class, £18, free to cancel until Tuesday 16:00 with the credit coming back, what to expect, and a Book this class button
The class, in plain words How long, what it costs, and until when it is free to cancel.
The booking step on a phone: one spot in Kickboxing at £18, the cancellation terms, and a Reserve your spot button
Booked in two taps Choose how many places, then reserve. The cancellation terms are right there.

Screens from the TallyUp booking page, shown with an example studio.

What you run it from

One console for the timetable, packages, clients, forms and messages. Packs, memberships, intro offers and gift cards are set up in one place.

Schedule
The schedule for a week in the TallyUp console, with each teacher in their own colour and how many are booked in each class
The week Every class, teacher and how full it is.
Packages
Packages and pricing in the TallyUp console: a single class, a private session, an intro offer, 6 and 10 class packs, a monthly unlimited membership and a gift card
Passes and memberships Drop-ins, packs, intro offers, memberships and gift cards.

Screens from the TallyUp console, shown with an example studio.

Built around how your studio works

Much of TallyUp is settings you choose, so it fits how you already run. You set a booking window for each class, and your cancellation terms in your own words. Passes can cover only the classes you pick, and a credit only matches the kind of session it came from. We draw your room with you, so clients choose their own spot. Every automatic email is already written, and you can edit all of them in your logo, colours and font. If something is missing, ask. We review requests every week, and what we build for you costs nothing extra.

Email wording
Email wording in the TallyUp console: the colour, logo position, button shape and font of every email, with a live preview of the email a new client receives
Every email, in your words Your logo, colours and font, with a live preview.
Forms
Forms in the TallyUp console: the health and studio agreement clients fill in before they can book, a photos and social media form, and a draft class feedback form
Your own forms Choose the form clients must complete before they can book.

Some things are off until you switch them on, and we say so plainly. Booking without an account is one, and the eight automatic follow-ups are another. So is letting teachers see health notes. Apple Pay and Google Pay show on supported devices only. A studio can list several locations, but one account runs one studio.

At the front desk

Put a tablet by the door. Clients tap their class, then their name, and they are checked in.

Front-desk tablet
The front-desk tablet: today's classes along the top and the kickboxing class's names below, with one client tapped and marked checked in
Check-in Clients tap their class, then their name.

2. How it compares on cost and terms

Here is what each company states on its own public pages. We use “stated” strictly: if it is not on their pages, it is marked as not stated, even if their sales team would tell you on a call.

Figure 2 What is published

TallyUp states its studio price and card fee in full. bsport and Arketa price studio plans by quote or demo

Whether each company states the item on its own public pages. Competitor facts checked 2 November 2026.

What each company states on its own public pages. Competitor facts checked 2 November 2026.
ItemTallyUpbsportArketa
Studio price Stated

£15.99 or £19.99 a month, per studio.

Not stated

Five plans (Start, Build, Engage, Elevate and Scale), each by quote.

bsport: pricing, checked 2 Nov 2026
Partly stated

One plan for one person: Individual, $49 a month billed annually. Studio plans (Core, Growth and Suite) by demo.

Arketa: pricing, checked 2 Nov 2026
Card fee Stated

2% + 20p for UK cards, with Stripe's own fee included. Nothing on cash or bank transfer.

Not stated

No rate published. Fees are taken from each payment as it is made.

bsport: payments, checked 2 Nov 2026
Partly stated

Individual: 3% plus Stripe's fees. Its help centre lists 0% to 3% for studios, plus Stripe's fees.

Arketa: pricing, Arketa help: taxes and fees, checked 2 Nov 2026
Free trial Stated

First month free, for every studio.

Stated

No standard free trial. A free first period can be built into the start of a contract.

bsport: pricing, checked 2 Nov 2026
Stated

A 7-day free trial.

Arketa: free trial, checked 2 Nov 2026
Contract length Stated

Monthly. No minimum term and no exit fee.

Not stated

Set in each signed contract, not in the published terms.

bsport: terms and conditions, checked 2 Nov 2026
Stated

Month to month, unless you choose an annual plan.

Arketa: pricing, checked 2 Nov 2026
Where data is hosted Stated

Database in London, app in Belgium, on Google Cloud.

Partly stated

Servers with OVH and Amazon Web Services. No country stated. Its terms say personal data is not transferred outside the EU or EEA.

bsport: terms and conditions, checked 2 Nov 2026
Stated

Hosting providers in the United States (AWS and Google Cloud).

Arketa: privacy annex, checked 2 Nov 2026

We cannot say TallyUp is cheaper than bsport, because bsport shows no price to compare with. What you can do is ask for a written quote and compare the monthly total with card fees and contract length included. Arketa's one published plan is for one person and priced in dollars, so it is not like for like with a studio plan either.

bsport's published terms do set some fees. Asking for the list of your clients' payment methods when you end the contract costs £250. If you ask for your clients' banking details to be migrated, the terms set a separate one-time cost of £150. bsport: terms and conditions, checked 2 Nov 2026

3. Which plan holds the features you use?

Both competitors split features across plans. Figure 3 shows where a few things studios use first appear, and how TallyUp differs.

Figure 3 Plans

TallyUp has two plans, and they differ by one feature. bsport and Arketa spread features across more

Where each feature is listed on the company's own pricing page, in the order its plans are shown. The outlined steps are where the branded app, spot choice and automated marketing are listed. Arketa also sells some of these as add-ons.

TallyUp: two prices

  1. Studio · £15.99 a monthEverything in Figure 1, with unlimited classes, bookings, clients and team logins.
  2. Studio + Concierge · £19.99 a monthAdds the AI concierge, which suggests classes from your timetable.

bsport: five plans, each by quote

  1. StartOnline payments, a marketing suite without the advanced Audience features, and an AI-assisted email builder.
  2. BuildUnlimited on-demand classes, and SMS and push notifications.
  3. EngageBranded member app, self check-in.
  4. ElevateChoose Your Spot, and the Audience marketing tools.
  5. ScaleCustom plans for multi-location brands. Its page lists the Engage features and does not say whether it includes Elevate's.
bsport: pricing, checked 2 Nov 2026

Arketa: one for one person, three by demo

  1. Individual$49 a month billed annually, with one team member login.
  2. Studio CoreStaff management and payroll reporting.
  3. Studio GrowthEmail and text campaigns, automated workflows and an AI email builder.
  4. Studio SuiteA custom branded iOS and Android app. The app is also sold as an add-on.
Arketa: pricing, checked 2 Nov 2026

Before you compare totals, find out which plan holds the three or four things your studio uses every day. At TallyUp that question has one answer, because the two plans differ only by the concierge. Plan lists change, and a quote can include more than a page shows.

4. What you give up, and who TallyUp suits

This is the section to read before you decide. Both competitors include things TallyUp does not. These are the gaps.

Figure 4 Gaps

Where TallyUp is behind bsport and Arketa today

Features listed on each company's own pages, against what TallyUp offers on 2 November 2026.

Features listed on each company's own pages, against what TallyUp offers today. Checked 2 November 2026.
FeatureTallyUpbsportArketa
Teacher pay

No.

Team and payroll tools: classes and instructor pay are tracked for payroll.

bsport: team and payroll, checked 2 Nov 2026

Staff management and payroll reporting, on the studio plans.

Arketa: pricing, checked 2 Nov 2026
On-demand video

No.

Unlimited on-demand classes, from the Build plan.

bsport: pricing, checked 2 Nov 2026

An unlimited on-demand library, listed from the Individual plan.

Arketa: pricing, Arketa help: on-demand, checked 2 Nov 2026
ClassPass and similar

No.

Integrations including ClassPass, Urban Sports Club and Wellhub. Third-party integrations are listed from the Build plan.

bsport: integrations, bsport: pricing, checked 2 Nov 2026

A ClassPass integration, for studios with a physical location.

Arketa help: ClassPass, checked 2 Nov 2026
App in the app stores

No. A booking page that works on any phone, with nothing to download.

A branded member app, from the Engage plan.

bsport: pricing, checked 2 Nov 2026

A custom branded app on Studio Suite, or as an add-on.

Arketa: pricing, checked 2 Nov 2026
Text messages

No.

SMS and push notifications, from the Build plan.

bsport: pricing, checked 2 Nov 2026

Email and text campaigns, from Studio Growth.

Arketa: pricing, checked 2 Nov 2026
Direct Debit

No.

Its help centre lists BACS among the payment methods for recurring payments, with availability varying by country. It does not use the words Direct Debit.

bsport help: online payment methods, checked 2 Nov 2026

Bank payments by ACH (US) or SEPA (Europe). BACS and UK Direct Debit are not mentioned.

Arketa help: ACH and SEPA payments, checked 2 Nov 2026

Figure 5 Fit check

TallyUp suits studios that run their own classes and want fewer moving parts

Our reading of where TallyUp fits today. This is our opinion, not a measurement.

A good fit if

  • You run one UK studio or gym, with classes, privates or courses.
  • You want a price you can read before you talk to anyone, and a month-to-month term.
  • Your clients book on their phones and do not need an app from an app store.
  • You want booking windows, cancellation terms, passes and emails set the way you run today.
  • You would like someone else to do the move from your exports.

Talk to us first, or choose elsewhere, if

  • You rely on teacher pay, on-demand video or ClassPass inside your booking system.
  • You need an app in the app stores in your own name.
  • You collect payments by Direct Debit or send text messages to clients.
  • You run several studios and want them under one account. One account runs one studio.

5. Moving from bsport or Arketa

We move your studio for you. There is no ready-made importer for bsport or Arketa, and we do not promise a timeline. We work from the CSV exports your current system gives you, and our importer reads any CSV by its headings. So far we have moved one studio, from Gymcatch.

Figure 6 Moving

TallyUp moves your clients, passes and bookings. Stored cards stay behind

What each company lists as moving when a studio switches to it. bsport says a migration takes 30 days on average and depends on your data and setup, and Arketa says most studios are live within 4 weeks. Those are their claims. TallyUp gives no timeline, because it depends on your exports and how soon they arrive.

What each company lists as moving when a studio switches to it. Checked 2 November 2026.
What movesTallyUpbsportArketa
Clients

Yes.

Your full client list, with history.

bsport: switch to bsport, checked 2 Nov 2026

Names, contact information, milestones and birthdays.

Arketa: migrations, checked 2 Nov 2026
Passes and credits held

Yes, with sessions left and expiry dates.

Active and historical, with remaining credits.

bsport: switch to bsport, checked 2 Nov 2026

Packages and memberships, active and historical.

Arketa: migrations, checked 2 Nov 2026
Timetable

Yes.

Not listed on its page.

bsport: switch to bsport, checked 2 Nov 2026

Schedules and offerings: classes, appointments and events.

Arketa: migrations, checked 2 Nov 2026
Future bookings

Yes.

Bookings, for supported platforms. Its page does not say whether these are future bookings.

bsport: switch to bsport, checked 2 Nov 2026

Not listed on its page.

Arketa: migrations, checked 2 Nov 2026
Payment history

No. We bring across what clients bought, not the payments.

Not listed separately. Its page says "Your full client list, with history".

bsport: switch to bsport, checked 2 Nov 2026

Past purchases and activity, described as curated data points.

Arketa: migrations, checked 2 Nov 2026
Stored payment details

No. Clients enter a card again on their first paid booking.

Payment methods are listed. If you ask for banking details to be migrated, its terms set a separate one-time cost of £150.

bsport: switch to bsport, bsport: terms and conditions, checked 2 Nov 2026

Payment information is listed with client data.

Arketa: migrations, checked 2 Nov 2026

Timelines, as each company states them: bsport: switch to bsport, checked 2 Nov 2026 Arketa: home page, checked 2 Nov 2026

How it works

  • You send us your exports: clients, the passes they hold, your timetable and future bookings.
  • Every import starts with a dry run, so you see what will change before anything is saved.
  • We run it twice. Once early, so there is time to fix problems. Again on the day you switch, to pick up what changed in between.
  • Your clients get no emails from TallyUp until you say you are ready.
  • Passwords cannot move. Clients choose a new one from a one-time link.
Invite clients
Invite clients in the TallyUp console: sends each client on your books a link to choose a password, with counts of who can sign in, who is invited and who is still to invite, health forms done, and a notice that client email is paused
Bringing clients across Everyone on your books gets a link to choose a password. A switch holds all client email until you are ready.

Having to enter a card again is a real cost to your clients, so tell them in advance. Send us your export and we will tell you what moves, before you commit to anything.

Before you cancel anything

Ask your current provider, in writing, for the length of your contract and the notice you must give. Ask what it costs to take the list of your clients' payment methods with you. And check you can export your clients, passes and bookings as CSV files. We would ask the same of TallyUp, and our terms answer the first two: no minimum term and no exit fee.

Where your data lives

TallyUp's database and uploaded files are on Google Cloud in London. The app that serves them runs on Google Cloud in Belgium. Some suppliers handle data elsewhere: Stripe for payments, Resend for email, OpenRouter for the AI concierge, and Twilio for text messages only if a studio switches them on. Each is listed on our sub-processors page. bsport's terms name OVH and Amazon Web Services without a country, and say personal data is not transferred outside the EU or EEA. Arketa's privacy annex says its hosting providers operate in the United States. bsport: terms and conditions, Arketa: privacy annex, checked 2 Nov 2026

The short questions

What does a studio need to know first?

TallyUp costs £15.99 or £19.99 a month per studio, in pounds, with the first month free and no minimum term. It does not have teacher pay, on-demand video, ClassPass, text messages, Direct Debit or an app in the app stores. If your studio relies on one of those, say so before you move.

Is TallyUp cheaper than bsport or Arketa?

We cannot say. bsport publishes no prices, and Arketa's one published price is for a single person, in dollars. Ask each for a written quote and compare the monthly total with card fees and contract length included.

Can TallyUp move my studio from bsport or Arketa?

Yes, we do the move for you from your CSV exports, with a dry run first. There is no ready-made importer for either. We bring across clients, the passes they hold, your timetable and future bookings. Stored card details and payment history stay behind.

More questions, answered on one page: TallyUp, bsport and Arketa side by side.

How we put this together, and sources

The BespokeWorks Team wrote this study. TallyUp is our product. Every TallyUp fact was checked in the product itself. Every bsport and Arketa fact comes from a page we opened on 2 November 2026, listed below. We left out anything we could not open and read for ourselves, including review sites that block automated access, and we do not quote reviews.

Companies change their prices, plans and terms. This study is due for review by 29 January 2027, and a review means re-checking every fact on both sides, not just moving the date. If something here is out of date, write to hello@bespokeworks.ai and we will correct it.

Try TallyUp free for your first month.

Or send us your export, and we will tell you what moves.